Often you want certain files to be left behind on the user’s system after an uninstall or left untouched and not overwritten during an upgrade. Examples are user prereferences and database files. Well, what can you do to accomplish this?
You set properties of Components that contain the files you want left behind or left untouched. Here is a screenshot of the Setup Design view and the db Component is selected.
Here the Permanent and Never Overwrite properties have been set to Yes. Perhaps you only need to set one of these properties, but let’s play it safe and set both.
Now obviously in order for this to work, these component properties must be set in the initial installation, before an upgrade ever takes place.
Remember these two properties the next time you want to leave files behind or untouched.